Writers Wednesday

Favorite writing things….

On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King is by far my favorite book on writing.  It’s a mix of writing tips and an honest look at what Mr. King did to achieve his dream. 

Quotes:

 I don’t write kid’s book but this still makes me smile….You know how it is in the kid’s book world; it’s just bunny eat bunny. – Anonymous

 And this just keeps me going….If you write one story, it may be bad; if you write a hundred, you have the odds in your favor. – Edgar Rice Burroughs

 The best practical advice… Never throw up on an editor. – Ellen Datlow

This is pretty much my thoughts of life in general… There is more pleasure to building castles in the air than on the ground. – Edward Gibbon

Music is wide open. I use it sometimes to set the mood (for the WIP I’m wrapping up I made a track list of nature sounds) or I use to help me stay in the character’s POV.  The serial killer in my WIP refused to move on from 1982 in his music taste so when writing his scenes, I listened songs like Physical by Olivia Newton-John, I Love Rock N Roll by Joan Jett and The Blackhearts,  Jack & Diane by John Cougar ect. And when he killed it was to Tainted Love by Soft Cell, You Should Hear How She Talks About You by Melissa Manchester and Sweet Dreams by Air Supply.

So what are some of your favorite writing quotes or books? What type of music do you write to?

 

 

 

 

One comment on “Writers Wednesday

Leave a Reply

