Not Writing…

 What do I do when I am not writing? I have several hobbies I enjoy but the one I’m most faithful to is crocheting baby blankets  Here is a picture of a blanket I just finished.  The color didn’t come through ~ it’s mellow sunny yellow. I love the way this one turned out.  The color and the weight of the yarn complemented the design. I combined two patterns and developed the corner technique to achieve this design.

The color and the weight of the yarn complemented the design. I combined two patterns and developed the corner technique to achieve this design.

Sometimes finding the right combination of yarn and pattern isn’t easy. A month ago I purchased some yarn that I love the feel of and the color blend. I’ve start four blankets and have yet to find the match.  So I’ve set that yarn aside, I’ll keep my eye open looking for a pattern. It’s a thick terry cloth style. I don’t want to do a straight stitch because I’m going to end up with a towel blanket – not my goal. I’ve tried a circle pattern but the yarn was too thick regardless of the hook size I used.

 In the meantime, I’ve started a blanket with yarn that I had set aside this winter for the same reason. I couldn’t find a pattern it worked it. I’m about a ¼ of the way done and LOVE it in this pattern.  When I’m done, I’ll post pictures.

Several of my fellow crocheting friends don’t have the struggle with yarn and pattern matching. They simply buy the pattern book and then buy the yarn recommended. I don’t always like to follow the rules. Okay, as with life I rarely follow the rules. As my daughter says, I don’t step out of the box because it doesn’t exist in my world.  And it’s not all about following rules or not – I just find it boring to stick to a pre-determine path.

I want my blankets to ‘unique’ in some way…. Your child in one of a kind so I think the blanket should represent that to a small degree.  Here are a couple more of my favorites….

Maybe too little to wave a flag, but light weight yarn makes it ideal for a cover during the 4th of July fireworks

a little different take on a standard square blanket

So what are some of your hobbies and how have you molded them to fit your personality?

5 comments on “Not Writing…

  1. I tend to follow patterns if the item has to fit someone – like a sweater. Otherwise, it’s the yarns that beckon to me – the colors, textures, the feel. Then I just find something to make with it. Sometimes, I just combine different stitch patterns that I like. But mostly, if it’s a good pattern, I follow it and before I know it, I have something beautiful.

Leave a Reply

