Day 3 – Hot Summer Night blog hop

So I was a little confused… I was doing a blog a day for the Hot Summer Nights Blog Hop and realized I was only meant to do one. Once again not following rules… L

Anyway Day 2 I posted a recipe for one of my favorite summer drinks – Redhead in Bed.  Jump back if you want to a take a look at and see what it was to do with newest release The Cabin – Toria and Neal.

At the end of the blog hop, I’ll select five lucky winners from my comments to win a wine glass and a bag of chocolate.  Also every comment left here will be entered into the drawing for one of 2 grand prizes. ~ The digital Erotica Gift Basket with over 400 books or $100 gift card to Eden’s Fantasys.

To with your ‘hot’ summer reads

So for today …

I love pirates and treasure hunts, so it was only natural I’d want to write a pirate story. Only I wanted my pirate to be the heroine.  And instead of a bird I wanted her to have a tiger – a tiger capable of performing magic. So I created a world where all that could be.

Not only did I create a world, but I created animals, the laws of magic, and races of humans.  World building adds an entirely new element to a story. The whys and whats are challenging.  I loved it so much I developed a young adult fantasy series so I could continue this with this creative adventure.  There is also a responsibility that goes with it… your details need to accurate. There’s no clicking on the internet to find what the distance from one place to another, so the writer needs to keep track of it.

Today’s excerpt is from Treasure Hunt:

A female pirate, a tiger capable of magic, and hot treasure hunter

          “You have enchanted me.”  DeLaney wanted to be pissed but only a sense of peace enveloped her.  “Damn you,” she hissed as she kissed along his jaw.  “You never play fair.”

          He laughed and tugged at her hair, forcing her to look at him. “I never said I did.  I only play to win.  But when I enter your bed as your lover it will be because you desire me not because I have charmed you.” 

She moved her hips against his groin. “So what is the purpose of this?” 

He moaned. “To give you a couple hours of undisturbed rest before we begin our voyage, but do not test me too much.”

DeLaney smiled and nipped at the sensitive skin of his neck.  “It’s your fault.  I didn’t ask to be bewitched.”  She willed a hand to move down his chest and rest on his pulsing erection.

“For the sake of the Goddess, this is the last time I try to be a nice guy.” 

“Raven Kinsley – a nice guy?”  DeLaney laughed and tightened her hand around him.  Slowly, moving her hand along the rigid outline of his desire. 

Raven muttered as he forced DeLaney’s hand away from his groin.  “Don’t think for one moment, I don’t know you’re using the charm as an excuse to express your desire.”

DeLaney opened his shirt and lightly bit his nipple.  “I don’t have any idea what you are talking about.  If you hadn’t swayed me with your magic, I’d find you totally repulsive.”  She muttered bring his hand under her shirt and placing it on her breast. 

“Shit,” Raven hissed as his hand cupped her. His thumb playing with the hard nipple as his mouth descended on her. His tongue demanding her lips part and welcome his intrusion. 

          Dear Goddess, help me because I want this man – desperately. 

She rocked her hips back and forth and arched her back as Raven’s fingers massaged her breasts. His kiss became more demanding and his touch harder. She could feel the need growing and knew if she planned on stopping it would have to be now.  With willpower she was unaware she possessed, DeLaney stepped back and turned out of his embrace. 

“Come Esmeralda.  I’m incredibly tired.”  She stopped at the cabin door arching her back in a seductive matter as she yawned.  “Thanks so much for the sleep enchantment.  I’m sure I’ll sleep like a baby.” 

DeLaney crossed the deck as the crews began their tasks of checking the rigging and sails.  Sea birds swirled above, screeching. The heavy dampness of the night was gone and  in its place was the warm first rays of the early morning sun on a clear day. The smell of salt, fish, and wood told DeLaney, she was home. The Gypsy Princess was the only place she had ever called home since her mother left her at the orphanage.

The cat at her side grunted. “I know, I won’t be sleeping but you don’t have to announce it,” she hissed to the feline.  Desire pulsed through her body like waves of a fierce storm slammed the beach.  DeLaney opened the door to the Captain’s quarters and walked in – alone.

Make sure to hop over to http://skyewarren.com/summerhop/ so you can visit everyone. And if you get a chance drop by tomorrow.

15 comments on “Day 3 – Hot Summer Night blog hop

  1. Thanks for the great excerpt. And I love the the pirate is the heroine!
    Thanks so much for the chance to win. Cute prize of wine glass and chocolate, both are very handy 🙂
    manning_j2004 at yahoo dot com

  2. Femaile pirate captain. Very cool! And also you said the magic word of chocolate!

    Thanks for the chance to win!
    rae.gwendy(at)gmail(dot)com

  3. Sounds like an awesome book, thanks for the giveaway!! Also, I think the gift basket of books only has over 40 books, not 400. Just a heads up, and thanks again!

    tiger-chick-1(at)hotmail(dot)com

  4. Your story sounds great! Gotta love a pirate! 😀 Thanks for sharing and for the fun hop! And thank you for the awesome giveaway!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  5. Yummy excerpt! I am adding it to my TBR. Thank you for the giveaway and participating in this amazing hop! 🙂
    trb0917 at gmail.com

Leave a Reply

