Motivation Monday ~

First, I’d like to thank EVERYONE who stopped by and left me a comment during the Hot Summer Nights blog hop.  I”ll be e-mailing the five winners today to get your addy’s. 

Everyone needs motivation to accomplish a task or reach a goal. And what works for one person may not have any effect for another. During my years at my EDJ I had to constantly figure out what would motivate my students. For some a box of PopTarts would work wonders, others it was a 2 litter of soda, and then for those who could look long term there were shoes, jeans, or cell phones.

 

I’m the kitten and my current WIP is the big bird…

Now as I shift to full-time writer, I’ve come to see what use to work as motivation isn’t there. I no longer have restricted time but the major difference – I don’t need the escape. Before, I’d come home and need to rid my mind of the nightmares of my EDJ. I’d submerge myself into a hot sex scene, a cliff hanger suspense chapter, or a humorous exchange between characters and my day would fade away.

 So while I need to increase my output for the shift I need in income, I have found that last week’s word count was less then when I had strip throat.

 This smack in the forehead led to my subject matter – motivation.  What will it be? Now I know for some if they set personal daily word count goals, they are driven to meet it. Me? Not so much. My mind just doesn’t work like that. I’m not competitive by nature (the entire can’t color inside the line thing I have). I have the desire/want to be a full-time writer but then I also have the desire/want to live in a hut on a tropical beach and so far neither is happening.

 I’m setting goals again this week but I’m also taking into consideration I need ‘prizes’ attached to them. So I’m making a list of things I’d like. “Mini” prizes with a bigger one at the end of the week. 

 I’ll report back next week on which one worked and which didn’t. (I’d like to say I know this will be a ‘sure thing’ but also from experience I know that even though the goal/prizes are there the mental hurdles can block the success).

 So what are some of the things you use for motivation? Does a simple word count goal work for you?

Leave a Reply

