Motivational Monday

I think Mother Nature is having some issues… record cold, 9 inches of snow in a six hour period, etc. I’ve offered to order her Girl Scout cookies, to buy her M&M’s, and to make her brownies. Told her I’d play Magic Mike and leave all the curtains open so she could watch…as I’m writing this it’s 12 degrees out, snow is pelleting my windows, and there is a high wind advisory. So clearly, I’ve hit on nothing that will motivate Mother Nature to give Northern Michigan a mild winter.

If I had sent the pages on fire with a high count, would he have come and put it out?

If I had sent the pages on fire with a high count, would he have come and put it out?

This last weekend I signed up for writer’s marathon. I received ‘cheering-on’ messages, had a writer partner to check in with, and hubby agreed to make his own meals (which means he ate eggs and hot dogs for two days). So am I going to dazzle you with a high word count??? Nope.  I did do a deceit amount but truly little more than average.

I’ve come to realize that like Magic Mike can’t sway Mother Nature, writing marathon’s don’t do it for me. In truth I do better if I just stick to my ‘daily’ grind plan. Because this weekend’s higher than average word count just puts a cement block into my flow for the week when I have less time to plot ahead due to the day job. So come next Friday will I still be ahead of my projected word count goal for the month? It’s hard to say….

Do write – ins or marathons help boost your overall word count?  How do you prepare for them?

 

Leave a Reply

