Unconventional Birthday Celebrations…

Welcome to the Ella Jade’s Birthday Blog Hop… Ellas Turning What Blog Hop Graphic

I have to admit as a child I didn’t have great birthday celebrations. I’ve only come to really enjoy my birthday in the last fifteen years or so. The reason for this…. My birthday is December 30th 😛 As the oldest of four children my birthday gift was included in with my Christmas presents and I couldn’t have a party because everyone was busy with the holidays. Then as I got older no one wanted to go out on my birthday because New Year’s Eve was the next night – okay everyone let’s hear a big ‘ohhhh.’

My daughter was born on November 30th, my husband’s birthday is December 7th, and my son’s is December 19th – GEEEEZZZZ. So because I didn’t want my kiddos to have the same disappointing birthday memories I do I came up with the half birthday celebrations. June is a good month for us financial and the kids are just finishing school so it was easy to track-down friends when they were younger for parties. Hubby and I could afford a nice dinner out and a movie to celebrate ours. AND I could buy some really cute sandals – my ‘birthday’ present.

My other son is born on St. Patrick’s day. Well, that just begged for all sorts of unconventional birthday celebrations. I’ve done Irish folktales, treasure hunts (the leprechaun’s pot of gold), etc. Now that he is in college, green beer pretty much covers it.
I came up with these unusually ways to celebrate their birthdays because I feel it is sooooo important for a child/adult to realize that they are valued. That their birth is celebrated because without my kiddos life would SUCK!!

In Spike – Rae’s birthday isn’t covered but she feels that her life doesn’t really matter. It isn’t until Brody returns that she sees what an impact she has on those around her. Brody is a member of a top beach volleyball team and yet he hasn’t ever been able to forget Rae.

Leave me a comment 😀 Up for grabs is the grand prize of a $100 gift certificate to Barnes and Noble or Amazon (your choice). And I’m giving away this cool cup ideal for the beach filled with lip balms.
To continue the hop…http://ellajadeauthor.blogspot.com/p/ellas-turning-what-blog-hop.html

33 comments on “

  1. That does stink to have your birthday around Christmas and New Years. My birthday is in Aug., before school starts. Everyone was always on vacation. So parties were pretty much just family.

  2. I love the idea of half birthday. I have thought about doing that for my sons. My youngest son’s birthday is December 18 and my second youngest son’s is January 16. This makes for very difficult party planning around the holidays. We have gotten good at finding different things to do.

    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

  3. My family has birthdays to celebrate at least one a week from Nov. 3 to after Dec, 27, I am very glad mine isn’t. Thanks for sharing Ella’s wonderful day and the giveaways. evamillien at gmail dot com

    Happy Birthday, Ella!

  4. My hubby’s b-day is on Dec 21st and he had the same issues, he was told to pick a gift from the tree :-/ I try to make his b-day’s special. Thanks for being a part of the blog hop! Happy Birthday Ella! fuades3@yahoo.com

  5. i think that’s great that you came up with great ideas 🙂 I’m also a December birthday, and when I was little, my Mom definitely crated good ways so that it was my own b-day, as it’s very close to Thanksgiving 🙂

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    butterflypetals7(at)gmail(dot)com

  6. My favorite birthday memory is one birthday when I was 8 or 9 (I think) and my parents let me invite a bunch of people over, including all of my family, and everyone just ran around in the yard, jumped on the trampoline, got in and out of those plastic pools around the yard, ate homemade cake and ice cream that my mom made, and hit the pinata! It was super fun just to be a kid and run around with all of my friends on a great day that involved homemade yummy treats!
    Thank you! kamclauc AT gmail DOT com

  7. I am a Halloween baby and never happier it isn’t a gift giving holiday!
    Happy B-Day Ella!! What an awesome idea for a hop! And so many awesome books to add to my TBR list!

    grapeapril75(AT)gmail(DOT)com

Leave a Reply

