Goals meet Accountability

We’re entering the last 2 full weeks of 2013 so not only is it crunch time to finish up the things with a 2013 deadline but also time to make some ‘real’ goals for 2014. I have a list of ‘dream’ goals. Things I’d LOVE to achieve in 2014 like becoming a bestseller author, etc.

goals best friend is discipline ...

goals best friend is discipline …

I spent a sometime yesterday researching goal making (hubby had the day off and writing was out of the question).

Per an article – The Science of Setting Goals

According to the research of psychologists, neurologists, and other scientists, setting a goal invests ourselves into the target as if we’d already accomplished it. That is, by setting something as a goal, however small or large, however near or far in the future, a part of our brain believes that desired outcome is an essential part of who we are – setting up the conditions that drive us to work towards the goals to fulfill the brain’s self-image.

I thought this was interesting. But the key thing with goal setting is having the discipline to take the steps to make them happen.

I liked this… whether or not I live a disciplined life is dependent solely upon me and the choices I make on a daily basis.

Daily is the key word here. Tomorrow never moves you closer to your goal and yesterday can’t be redone so I must do TODAY what needs to be done.

Several articles I read featured the saying by Mark Twain about ‘eating the frog’ first thing in the morning. Start your day by dining on a frog – that way the worse is behind you.

So what is my ‘frog’? What is the thing that never happens that needs to?

I haven’t really been able to narrow it down. Oh don’t get me wrong, A LOT of my goals don’t happen but I’m not sure what the frog is that keeps this from happening.

Another thing I found mentioned often is the need for an accountability partner(s). This is something I have been considering. Life keeps throwing up all over my day and I find myself pushing things to the day that never comes – tomorrow.

My no-longer day job was a constant roller coaster changing every day sometimes three times during the same day. BUT I had a boss (several), the state and federal governments (I was an advocate for EI students) all holding me responsible. And the students relied on me to make sure things were handled for them.

I went from A LOT of accountability to NONE. So I have decided that I do need to set up some sort of accountability for 2014.  How or what??? I have no idea.

Does anyone have a writing accountability partner??? If so how does that work???

What do you use to hold yourself accountable???

 

Leave a Reply

