The Borderland Legacy Tour

banner

Welcome ~ settle in with a cup of coffee as we learn a little more about Samantha. Read an incredible excerpt. And view a little eye candy :0)

I’m soooo excited to be a part of this blog tour. I love Samantha Holt’s books and I love sharing great authors more than eating M&M’s.

Here’s a chance to learn a little more about this awesome author…

What are two of your non-writing passions?

I do a little graphic design and photomanipulation on the side and really enjoy doing that. I didn’t think I was particularly artistic—I can’t draw at all—until I started doing that. Other than that, history is a passion of mine. I love reading about events in history and digging up more information. 

What was your main inspiration for Borderland Legacy?

Northumberland. It’s a stunning county—very wild like Scotland. I desperately wanted to set a book in Northumbria as it was known then and I loved the idea of these rugged borderland men, who were slightly on the outskirts of the law at the time. The borderlands were pretty much left to govern themselves for hundreds of years. That appealed to me.

If you could go anywhere in the world where would it be?

I’d like to go to Crete. I studied its history when I did archaeology in college and would love to be able to visit some of the archeological sites there. The weather would be nice too!

 Would you prefer to travel back in time or forward? Why?

Backward. Forward scares me. I’m a worrier and I fear for the future of our world a lot. So I’d far rather go to the past. Maybe to the Regency era. As much as I love the medieval period, I don’t think I’d survive two minutes.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life what would it be?

Pastries of any kind!

 What is your favorite movie? Why?

It was the Lord of the Rings trilogy, but I recently watched the second Hobbit film and adored that. It doesn’t hurt it had my favourite actor, Richard Armitage in it!

 Do you have a favorite author or one type of genre you read?

t have one author who I stick with in romance. I like to try new authors and will read almost anything within those sub-genres.

What is your season and why?

Summer. I get cold too easily, even in summer, though if you lived in England, you’d know why. But I relish the few days of sun we get and being able to get out and about in the countryside.

Do you have a writing ritual?

Not a ritual as such but I tend to sit down at the same time every day. I also ‘sprint’ against myself. I set a time for 30 minutes and aim to write a certain amount within that time. It forces me to just keep writing and not question my characters or events. Often that’s when my best writing comes out.

 Who is your favorite character in this book and why?

It’s very hard to choose. I’m still in love my borderland men, but Jake is my favourite hero I think. He has a tortured quality and I’m a sucker for that but he’s very sensitive and caring. He will always put others first and cares a lot for his family. I love those traits.

What is your favorite scene?

I can’t say too much or I’ll give it all away but it’s when something happens and Jake and Isabel first make love in Borderland Bride. Jake is sooo sexy and tender. It still plays in my mind sometimes.

And before we read an excerpt… let’s have a ‘peak’ at the sooo sexy and tender Jake.

jake

Jake… sigh.

Borderland Bride ~ The Borderland Legacy

Excerpt

 

“Isabel, what in God’s name are you doing?”

“I am returning to my father,” she told him breathlessly.

“You would see yourself in that monster’s hands? Why?”

“I cannot see Thornewall suffer for my sakes. And I cannot see you or Dominic harmed. Not for me.”

“We are grown men; will you not let us make these decisions ourselves? Thornewall is strong, we have endured worse.”

Isabel shook her head. “Nay, I will not see war brought to your door. If my father fails here, then he will turn his attention to your lands. They have not the strength of Thornewall, you have said as much yourself.”

Jake squeezed her arm until he saw her wince. Damn his brutish manners. He could not let her throw herself into the arms of a murderer for their sakes. “I can defend my lands, lass. I’ve done it before and I’ll gladly do it again.”

But she was right, Greycroft was ill prepared for a full-scale war and his own castle would not hold out long against a siege. It was likely he would die defending it.

“That is what I fear,” she said softly and Jake wondered if he had spoken aloud.

Her voice took on a desperate quality and she pulled against his grip. “Let me go, Jake, for I cannot allow you to place yourself in danger for me. Not for a woman that hurt you so.”

He considered her and saw the fear in her eyes – a fear that was not for herself, but for him, his brother, and all their people. How he could ever have thought her as wicked as his wife, he knew not. There was nothing in this lass but kindness. He gulped, fighting the words he would have to say. There was no other way.

“Isabel, you do not have to return.”

“I do, Jake!” She struggled again.

“Listen…” He grabbed at her other arm and pinned her still. “Listen, there is another way. Marry…”

She ceased her struggles and stared at him.

“Marry Dominic.”

Isabel blinked at him. “What?” she whispered.

“Marry Dominic. Your father would be a fool to say nay to such an allegiance. He is one of the richest men in England. There will be no war and you will be safe.”

Safe. He clung to the word, trying to ignore the ache in his heart. It didn’t matter, as long as she was safe. In spite of himself, he urged her to say nay, to confess her love for him, but he knew it could come to nothing. He had nothing to offer Lord Henry in return for her hand.

Isabel gaped at him. “Marry Dominic? But…did he decide this?”

“Nay.” He sighed. “‘Twas my idea.”

She gulped and her eyes misted with tears as she took a deep breath. Her composure regained, she shook her head in disbelief. “Why would you suggest such an idea?”

Borderland Beauty Cover Borderland Bride Cover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks for stopping by 🙂 Both of these awesome books are available at:
Amazon Kindle Link –
• Borderland Bride: http://amzn.com/B00C825F1W
• Borderland Beauty: http://amzn.com/B00DAIUFCM
Barnes & Nobles Nook Link –
• Borderland Bride:http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/borderland-bride-samantha-holt/1115054338?ean=2940045196512
• Borderland Beauty: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/borderland-beauty-samantha-holt/1115544138?ean=2940016505763
Goodreads Link –
• Borderland Bride: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17874463-borderland-bride?from_search=true
• Borderland Beauty: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18161766-borderland-beauty?from_search=true

2 comments on “The Borderland Legacy Tour

Leave a Reply

