It’s A Winter Tasty Tuesday

I’m gathering the fuzzy blankets as another artic blast comes a callin’. They aren’t my favorite thing about winter, actually the only thing I like about winter is these two drinks 😀
DSCN0066
The ‘adult’ hot cocoa is a favorite at my house while watching hockey or playing cards with friends. I mix the vodka and amaretto in a pitcher and keep my milk on a warmer.  I have Land-o-Lakes flavored hot cocoa mix packages in a basket (I use the supreme, dark, and s’more flavors). I’ve list the ingredients for an individual but they are easy to double, triple, etc. for a crowd.

 

 

Adult Hot Cocoa

What you need…

1/4 cup Vanilla flavored vodka                                       1/4 cup Amaretto

2/3 cup hot milk                                                                1 package hot cocoa mix

What you do…

Mix everything in an oversize coffee mug 😀

My second favorite warm drink is mulled wine. Again, I make this for a group but because it dances in a crock-pot I take to the party 😀 Besides being warm and wine – it’s CHEAP to make ~ got to love that.

Mulled Wine

What you need….

2 bottles dry red wine (I use cheap wine because the taste is really altered so I feel it’s a ‘waste’ of my more expensive stuff)
1 cup freshly squeezed orange juice (about 3 oranges)
2 more oranges (to float on top while I’m not always about bling in cooking this time I do think it’s necessary)
3/4 cup white sugar
1/4 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp cinnamon
4 cinnamon sticks
4 whole cloves

What you do

I used a 6 quart crock-pot.
Pour the wine into the crock-pot and squeeze the oranges to get 1 cup of juice (or you can cheat and use pulp OJ from the store). Stir in the sugar, and add the ground spices. Float the cinnamon sticks and whole cloves on top. Slice two of the oranges in rings, and float the rings  on top.
Cover and cook on high for 2 hours, or on low for 4.

One comment on “It’s A Winter Tasty Tuesday

  1. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 01/21/14 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

