Time Out from Life

As a full time writer, I don’t have a traditional Monday through Friday 8 to 4 work hours. It’s easy to fall into a seven day work week especially with looming deadlines or a story that I’m excited about AND sometimes that is required. But when it’s not then I need to remember to take time off.

Downtime looks different. Sometimes it’s like it was yesterday. Hubby and I took our grandson up to his mother’s. We spent the day visiting, playing in the snow, and just relaxing.  Other times, if I’m in serious need of recharging, I’ll take entire weekend and read. Or when we have our one month of summer, I love to go to the beach.

The rocker was a gift from my grandmother... love it!!!!

The rocker was a gift from my grandmother… love it!!!!

My favorite place to do pre-submission edits. They listen to all my woes :)

My favorite place to do pre-submission edits. They listen to all my woes 🙂

When I need a break from editing or writing and my deadlines don’t allow a day off, cooking, crocheting, and card making offer a great couple hour escape.

 

Hooker Brownies - so name because they are 'easy and soooo good' ;)

Hooker Brownies – so name because they are ‘easy and soooo good’ 😉

002

A thank-you card I made for a friend that included seeds for a butterfly garden

My goal is to make a blanket a month for Linus project

My goal is to make a blanket a month for Linus project

Watching movies or television isn’t really a ‘relaxing’ time for me, which is how I’ve avoided the shows like The Walking Dead, Breaking Bad, and Arrow that so many find addicting. My hubby, however, is a big television/movie watcher as is my daughter and one of my sons. Because of my shining object disorder, rarely can I just sit there regardless of how great the show is. During an average 2 hour movie, I crochet, update my facebook and twitter, visit my favorite recipe blogs, and most likely write. So after an afternoon of television/movie watching, I don’t really feel relaxed.

Time out from my writing life not only helps me be more productive but it’s important for my ‘mental’ health (aka my bitch factor).

How do you relax? Do you schedule ‘life time outs’ or do you go with the flow?

Leave a Reply

