Motivation or Habit

What keeps you writing motivation or habit??

In 2014 I lacked both — motivation and habit. But I’m turning it around this year… No really I am. I’m not motivated to write – yup that’s right, I’m NOT motivated to write. I’m motivated to create a habit to write. Last year I had hit a slump, a bump in the road…my lazy side had snuck in. I needed something new not only to get me (re)started but to keep me going as well.
I’ve heard (as I’m sure everyone has) that it takes 30 days to form a habit. So I decided that I would set a goal of writing every day for 30 minutes even if I could only come up with a 100 words. (Those 100 words add up) At end of 30 days I plan to increase to 60 minutes for another 30 days with the final daily goal of being 90 minutes. 90 minutes will be my minimum with more on the weekend and days off from the crazy day job.
Sometimes you need something to push you to get the wheels rolling again. Setting a goal can be very motivating. I knew that I always felt better when I write.
Writing

Motivation is what gets you started.
Habit is what keeps you going.

I didn’t even tell anyone what I was doing for the first few weeks. I had to prove to myself that I was up to the task and could keep the dark side of laziness in check. I didn’t get to my blog as I planned BUT I did write on my WIP everyday for 30 minutes and did achieve at least 100 words.

My goal of writing every day is helping me form a healthy habit. And once something becomes a habit, good or bad, it is hard to break. No longer is there a question of IF, it’s only a when and where. But I will leave that for another blog. For now…
HAPPY WRITING!

Leave a Reply

