Thirsty/Tasty Thursday

Ole Man Winter and Mother Nature have worked out whatever differences they had during the month of December that allowed us to have above temps and NO snow…. We are breaking record cold and the snow is too deep for my sixty-eight pound dog.

This week’s thirsty/tasty Thursday is my effort to bring a ‘little’ fun to the cold dark days… My favorite candy bar (something I share with Lyssa – my current heroine) is Almond Joy because sometimes you feel like a nut. Ok, I do most times. My family says I like the candy bar because I can chant “I feel like a nut” while eating and it doesn’t make me crazy. Because you can’t just chant “I feel like a nut”… that is crazy BUT if you are eating an Almond Joy well then it’s okay dokie.

Sometimes you feel like a nut :-)

Sometimes you feel like a nut 🙂


Almond Joy also makes coffee creamer which I LOVE!!! And it allows me to chant while I drink my coffee.
On a morning that you ‘feel like a nut’ these are awesome waffles…
Almond Joy Waffles (makes 6 waffles)
What you need:
1 1/3 cups white whole wheat flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 cup sweetened, shredded coconut
1/2 tsp. salt
3 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. ground flax seed
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. vanilla
1 cup milk
1/4 cup water
1 egg
2 tbsp. EVOO
2 tbsp. agave
Slivered almonds for garnish
Additional coconut for garnish

What you do:
Mix the dry ingredients (flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, flax, coconut) in a big bowl until thoroughly combined.

Or when you want to end your day ‘feeling like a nut’…

Almond Joy Martini Recipe
Serves 4. Or 2. Ok, come on. It serves 1 when your name is Lyncee on a Friday night at home.
Ingredients:
1 oz. coconut flavored rum
1 oz. hazelnut flavored liqueur
1 oz. chocolate liqueur
1 oz. whip cream flavored vodka
1 oz. Hershey’s chocolate syrup
4 oz. half & half
Directions:
Shake 1 oz. each of coconut-flavored rum, hazelnut flavored liqueur (if you don’t feel like a nut, leave the hazelnut out – but isn’t it all about feeling like a nut?), chocolate-flavored liqueur, Hershey’s chocolate syrup, and whip cream flavored vodka. Add 4 oz. of half and half or light cream, shake with ice, then strain into a chilled glass.
The real recipe says to garnish with shredded coconut, which would look very cool on the rim (rub rim of glass with rum, then dip into shredded coconut), but have you ever eaten straight, “raw” shredded coconut?!?!
Gross.
If you want a ‘fancy’ drink look, garnish with a swirl of Hershey’s

Does anyone else have some great ‘candy-bar’ recipes?

Leave a Reply

