Thirsty Thursday

This weekend is the Superbowl and while I’m not a football fan. Hockey, basketball, and baseball – I enjoy but something about football I could never get into. But at no time do I enjoy commercials as much as I do during the Superbowl;-p And it’s a great time with friends.

As you all know, I have a thing for martinis so over the years it has become tradition that I make Skittle flavor vodka in the colors of the teams playing.

I thought I had a picture (or two) of some of the Skittle vodka I've made in the past but nope...

I thought I had a picture (or two) of some of the Skittle vodka I’ve made in the past but nope…

You need…
2 bags of Skittles
Whip Cream or cake flavored vodka (regular vodka can be used but I like the flavored vodka because the end product isn’t so sweet)
A large container with a sealable lid

You do…
Remove all the red or blue Skittles depending on what team you are routing for – the ‘leftovers’ can be used for a different occasion ;-p

Pour off some of the Vodka into a larger container.

Add your Skittles to the bottle.

Replace the cap and shake vigorously.

It takes several hours of intermittent shaking for the Skittles to completely dissolve

Once the Skittles have dissolved you should be left with coloured Vodka and a layer of scum (or ming) will have formed. This ming must be removed.

Pour the Skittles Vodka through a sheet of kitchen paper or a coffee filter using a sieve. This will remove the ming and leave nothing but tasty Skittles flavoured Vodka.

For the Superbowl XLIX martini

You need…

2 parts Skittle vodka
1 part pineapple juice

Thanks for stopping by…

Leave a Reply

