Motivation Monday

I’m a visual person. When I write I need a picture of my characters to refer back. I note the changes I’ve made shorter or longer hair etc. But I need to ‘see’ them. So when I started looking for ways to keep negativity from creepy back into my life, I came across the vision board idea.

So as one of the steps I took to make 2015 different was to create a vision board. A vision board, sometimes they are referred to as a Treasure Map or a Visual Explorer or Creativity Collage, is typically a poster board on which you paste or collage images that you’ve torn out from various magazines. Once made it’s hung somewhere you will see it every day.

Basically, a vision board is a visual representation and a reminder of all the things that you want to do, be, and have in your life. Something you can look at every single day to remind you of your deepest desires. Your dreams.

For those who stalk Pinterest here is a link to a variety of vision boards.

This is mine….phone jan 2015 052

The monsters hiding behind the self-doubt are procrastination and negativity.

The monsters hiding behind the self-doubt are procrastination and negativity.

phone jan 2015 055

This is my financial area

phone jan 2015 054

The Mixing It Up refers to my hot adult, sweet adult, and young adult. I need to add something for the sweet adult and young adult. The No Time! Write short! is a reminder that I don’t need ‘big’ blocks of time…I just need to write

 

Mine is in the ‘beginning’ stages. Because I didn’t have enough images right now and I didn’t want a plain white background, I had my grandson paint it. When I started going through magazines looking for pictures, I decided I was going to focus the board on the two areas of my life that I have decided needed the most help. I have two themes for 2015, my writing, and my finances, but I included a third place for life in general (currently, this is where I keep my exercise log and decluttering goals). The fourth area – Sneak Peek – is where I write upcoming things I want to participate in (like my first writing conference which I’m attending in March).

As you can see, I added sticky notes on mine as a place to write goals accomplished. Each month, I remove the sticky note and start fresh. I decided not to carry over from one month to another each is a ‘fresh’ start. Now as time goes, I intend to add more pictures and phrases to my board.
Has anyone else made a vision board? If so I’d love to see so please post a picture or pictures in the comments.
Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

