Thirsty/Tasty Thursday

Golden-New-Year-Goat-2015

Today is the lunar new year, so this week’s thirty/tasty Thursday is in honor of that. It’s Crab Ragoon dip and a purple dragon martini. While, I’ve never made the martini, by the end of the weekend I won’t be able to say that 😉

I know it is the year of the goat not the dragon BUT look at this martini!!!!

This is on my 'to-do' list for the weekend

This is on my ‘to-do’ list for the weekend

I’m sure I’ll use vanilla vodka in place of the plain the recipe calls for. I’ll also probably change the curacao liqueur for blue raspberry vodka. The notes say they used grape cranberry juice – I know I won’t. Don’t care for grape anything. I’m also not sure about the sweet and sour mix….

Ingredients:
3oz vodka
1 1/2oz cranberry juice (I used some with grape to help with the purple color)
1/2oz blue Curacao liqueur
1/2oz sweet and sour mix
1/2oz of 7-Up
2-3 ice cubes

Directions
Mix all ingredients in blender or food processor for 20 to 30 seconds on high speed. Salt the rim of your martini glass

Here is where I found this martini: http://therepowoman.com/purple-dragon-martini-recipe/#ixzz3SBhDwTmB

The dip is one of my favorite to bring dips.

Crab Rangoon Dip with Wonton Chips

What you need:

    • 4 green onions, chopped
    • 2 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese
    • 2 (6 ounce) cans fancy crabmeat, drained ( can also use imitation Krab)
    • 3 tablespoons powdered sugar
    • 1 1/2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
    • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
    • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
    • 1/2 cup sour cream

For wonton chips

    • 32 wonton wrappers
    • vegetable oil

What you do:

Soften the cream cheese in the microwave for about thirty seconds.  Add all the other ingredients (except wonton chips) and mix well. Pour dip into an oven-safe casserole dish.

Bake for 30 mins at 350 degrees, or until dip is hot and bubbly.

For Wonton chips

Cut wonton wrappers in half on the diagonal. Spray wontons lightly with oil using kitchen spritzer. Turn oven up to 375 degrees. Lay wontons on baking stone or cookie sheet in a single layer. Bake wontons 4-6 minutes or just until golden brown. Watch closely as they burn easily.  Remove from pan and allow to cool on a plate layered with paper towels.

Leave a Reply

