Manic Monday

I’m still trying to find my ‘new groove’… so far I’m stuck doing the happy chicken dance while everyone is else is waltzing.

What is this planning stuff you guys keep talking about??

What is this planning stuff you guys keep talking about??

Last week was another horrible week in the word count area. Besides hitting the evil exercise trail a couple of times, exercising was a bust. The up side??? I did meet my goals in the money area.

Yeah I did achieve one goal. Bring on the doughnuts baby!

Yeah I did achieve one goal. Bring on the doughnuts baby!

My word count is suffering because I’m trying to change my writing habits. This is as easy as growing a second head. I’ve engaged the planner beast before and have always limped away to return to pantser ways and while I do accomplish some writing it isn’t nearly what I need. I honestly believe to be successful I need to integrate some planning into my writing *shudders*.
I have put my space opera on hold and is using I’m trying to several different ‘planning’ methods with it trying to create a combo that works for me. Success has remained in the far distance but I’m hoping this week breaks it. I’d like to have it planned to the degree I need so I can knock it out during Spring Break from the crazy day job.
As far as the exercising thing, it has also suffered due to my writing struggles. I’ve given up exercising time to write – which doesn’t happen. It’s a bitter circle that I need to get off.
I love to ‘catch’ shiny objects and HATE routine, I also fight putting structure in my life. I attack structure like a starving wolf goes after a bunny.
Over the years, I’ve grown and matured – well sort of – so I know that it vastly important I put structure into certain areas of my life but when it comes to my writing, I still want the wild freedom. I’m going to achieve my ‘dreams’ structure needs to happen.

Another week of trying to plan my space opera

I’m digging in for another week of trying to plan my space opera

This week I’m going to continue to try the ideas in Rachel Aaron’s 2k to 10k. They aren’t overly structured so I think once I get over my ‘stubborn’ road block, I’ll be able to rock out the word count, I need/want. But the problem comes in getting around, over, or under the ‘stubborn’ road block.
So here is to a week of being all adult in my writing and exercising! What are some of your weekly goals?

Leave a Reply

