Tasty and Thirsty Thursday

This week’s tasty and thirsty is featuring bananas… I’m on the last week before returning to the crazy job so things are just a bananas anyway so I thought I should enjoy the actually fruit.

The martini – Spank the Monkey – just because I had soooo much fun telling my kids that me and hubby were going to Spank the Monkey…. my kids are very much of the mind set that a wild time for hubby and me is playing a game of checkers.

Anyway back to the martini. I had to play with the ratios a lot in this drink for some reason so all three flavors could be detected. It’s made with coconut vodka, pineapple vodka, and banana cream rum.

In a martini shaker with several cubes of ice add 1 part pineapple vodka, 1 1/2 part coconut vodka, and 2 parts banana cream rum. Then do the crazy monkey dance to blend. Pour into martini glass and ENJOY…

IMAG0232

For the banana tasty part, I’m sharing my recipe for banana bread using banana beer. I’ve shared this before a couple of years ago but it really is good and I’m not sure if there is a time that banana bread just does make everything better. I’m planning on trying the banana bread waffles that has been showing up on my timeline this weekend.

 

banana-beer

This is also really good in chocolate chip cookies

Banana Beer Bread

What you need:

1¾ cups all ­purpose flour

¾ cup granulated sugar

1¼ teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

1 cup walnuts, chopped

¾ teaspoon salt

2 large eggs

3 medium bananas, mashed

⅓ cup melted butter

¼ cup beer (highly recommend Wells Banana Bread Beer)

What you do:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F with the rack in the center of the oven.
  2. Lightly grease and flour a loaf pan.
  3. In a large bowl blend together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, walnuts, and salt.
  4. In a separate bowl, beat the eggs until foamy. Add the bananas, butter and beer. Fold the wet mixture into the dry, combining until thoroughly mixed.
  5. Pour the batter into the prepared load pan and bake for 55 minutes, or until awooden toothpick inserted into the center of the bread comes out clean and the top is golden.
  6. Remove from the oven and cool in the pan on a wire rack for at least 5­10 minutes before removing the loaf from the pan.

 

What is your favorite banana recipe?

Leave a Reply

